JAN      |     FEB      |     MAR      |     APR      |     MAY      |     JUN      |     JUL      |     AUG      |     SEP      |     OCT      |     NOV      |     DEC

 
 

October

 


A Lincoln for Johnson, Nixon, Ford & Carter

The new presidential limousine is delivered to the White House and inspected by President Johnson.

Developed jointly by Lincoln, the U.S. secret service, and Lincoln coach-builder Lehmann-Peterson, the vehicle was more than 15 months in the making and cost $500,000 USD – the most expensive car ever made at the time. (Although Lincoln absorbed the costs and leased the vehicle to the government for only $1,000 a year.)

The custom 1968 Lincoln Continental limousine had more advanced security, communications and engineering features than any automobile ever used for official duties at the White House. That included more than two tons of armor, a transparent canopy and windows thicker than the glass used in U.S. Air Force fighter planes, and tires with rubber-rimmed steel disks inside that allowed the vehicle to travel with flat tires at top speeds for up to 50 miles.

In addition to other amenities and features, the Continental was equipped with a state-of-the-art communications center and a PA system that allowed the President to communicate with crowds from inside with all the windows up.

Its first use actually wasn't by LBJ, but by President-elect Richard Nixon, who used the vehicle throughout his presidency, as did Presidents Ford and Carter, before it was officially retired in April, 1978.

The Genius Behind The Genius.

Legendary Lincoln designer Eugene Turenne "Bob" Gregorie, Jr. is born in New York City.

Few individuals have ever had as singular and lasting an influence on car design as Lincoln’s Bob Gregorie.

“Although I did the design work – taking pencil in hand and sketching cars – Edsel Ford's innate design ability steered me towards those wonderful old Ford, Mercury, and Lincoln designs. We made a good team,” Gregorie once wrote.

He designed the 1936 Lincoln Zephyr, hailed by the Museum of Modern Art as the first successful streamlined car in the U.S. At just 27, he was made Ford and Lincoln’s first design chief. In 1938, Edsel commissioned Gregorie to design a touring sedan with the style and flair of those he saw on “the continent.” Using a crayon on a transparent overlay for a Lincoln Zephyr, in less than an hour Gregorie had sketched out a timeless design: a two-door cabriolet that would become the Continental, recognized by many the most beautiful automobile ever made.

Perfection Doesn’t Come Easily.

The 1956 Lincoln Continental Mark II is introduced to the public at the Paris Auto Show.

Like the original Continental, the Mark II is considered by many to be one of the most beautiful cars ever designed. Famous for its near-perfect proportions, incredibly high standards of quality and meticulous craftsmanship, the Continental Mark II sold for around $10,000 USD (an astronomical asking price in its day, about the same cost as a 1956 Rolls Royce).

The Continental Mark II was unmistakably the successor to the original – even the camouflaged prototypes stripped of all emblems couldn’t hide its Lincoln Continental DNA – yet at the same time it was a completely new look in car design. Its low, elongated profile bucked the flashy, big-fin conventions of the mid-Fifties and didn’t rely on trends like chrome, two-tone paint, or sharp styling cues to accentuate its beauty.

Essentially a handmade mass-production vehicle, the new Continental had a manufacturing facility specially built, with 14 quality control stations throughout. Inside, each Mark II was built with a compulsive attention to detail and uncompromising tolerances.

Every body was first preassembled to ensure an ideal fit. It was then disassembled, painted three times, double lacquered, hand-sanded, polished and buffed before the final assembly. In fact, the 60 hours devoted to metal finishing and painting alone was more than the time spent on the entire assembly of other "typical" luxury cars. Scotland’s Bridge of Weir leather was chosen for the interior because the ranch doesn’t use barbed-wire enclosures, ensuring hides free of scars and scratches. Even the cross-head screws securing the Mark II windshields were individually hand-tightened to line up vertically and horizontally.

All this perfectionism was done to create the most luxurious, carefully crafted production car possible. It’s a goal we still aspire to today here in China, not just in our cars, but in every store, and every moment you experience with Lincoln.

A True American Classic

The 1977 Lincoln Continental Mark V is introduced to the public.

In an homage to the first Lincoln Continental being recognized by the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) as one of history’s eight automotive “works of art,” the 1977 Lincoln Continental Mark V was unveiled to the world at the illustrious museum itself.

Based on the same chassis of its Mark IV predecessor, the Mark V was the largest member of the Lincoln Mark series ever produced. It retained several of the brand’s key styling cues such as concealed headlights, radiator grille, and oval opera windows, along with a signature design element of the Continental Mark series: the spare tire “hump” of the trunk lid.

The ’77 Mark V also made some changes not just to the Lincoln Mark family, but to the luxury auto industry as well. While physically larger than the Mark IV before it, the Continental Mark V was 180 kilograms lighter. This streamlining marked Lincoln’s leadership in improving the fuel economy of its vehicles – another move from the brand to be replicated by other luxury carmakers that continues today. Probably not coincidentally, the Mark V remains the best-selling version of Lincoln’s entire Mark series.

一月      |     二月     |     三月      |     四月      |     五月      |     六月      |     七月      |     八月      |     九月      |     十月      |     十一月      |     十二月

十月



一款林肯座驾,缘结四任总统

1968年10月21日,一款全新总统系列豪华轿车被运送至白宫,并接受约翰逊总统的检阅。

这款由美国情报部门、林肯车身制造商雷曼彼得森公司(Lehmann-Peterson)以及林肯公司共同开发的豪华座驾,耗时15个月制造完成,价值50万美元,是当时最昂贵的轿车(林肯公司租用给美国政府的价格仅为每年1000美元)。

这款1968年定制的林肯Continental豪华轿车,相较以往任何一款白宫专用的官方代步车,在安全、通讯以及机械性能上都有了诸多提升,包括重逾两吨的防护盾,透明顶篷与车窗的玻璃厚度均超过美国空军战斗机,带有橡胶镶边的轮毂,允许汽车在车胎破损的状况下以最高50英里/小时的速度行驶。

除了这些装备与功能外,这款Continental还配备有一个最新型的通讯中心以及PA系统,使总统能够在车窗全封闭的状态下与车外的民众沟通。

事实上,此座驾的第一位使用者并非约翰逊总统,而是理查德•尼克松总统(Richard Nixon),这是他在任职期间的专用车,其后,福特总统与卡特总统也同样选择了此车。直至1978年4月,这台Continental才正式完成它的使命,退出历史舞台。

经典背后的天才人物

1908年10月12日,传奇人物、林肯设计师尤金•鲍勃•格里高利(Eugene Turenne "Bob" Gregorie)在纽约出生。

在汽车设计的领域中,有几位设计师对整个行业产生了深远非凡的影响,而格里高利正是其中一位。

格里高利曾这样写道:“虽然,用笔勾勒出汽车造型的设计工作是由我完成的,但事实上,埃德塞尔的设计天赋给了我许多灵感,他引导着我设计出那些优秀的福特、水星以及林肯车型。我们的合作非常默契。”

由格里高利设计完成的1936年林肯Zephyr,作为美国第一款成功的流线型汽车,受到了纽约现代艺术博物馆的致敬。年仅27岁的格里高利,就成为了福特及林肯首位设计总监。1938年,埃德塞尔委任他以欧洲大陆的见闻为灵感设计一款旅行轿车。在不到一小时的时间内,格里高利用蜡笔在透明的轮廓纸上描画勾勒,一款经典之作——林肯Zephyr Continental 就在他的手中诞生:这款双门的敞篷车,也就是后来的林肯Continental,它凭借非凡的造型设计被后世公认为史上最美的汽车。

完美,从来不是一件简单的事

1956年款Continental Mark II在巴黎车展上公开亮相。

与第一代Continental一样,这款Mark II被认为拥有前所未见的美感设计。因其难以置信的高品质与一丝不苟的精湛工艺,方方面面近乎完美而闻名,售价约在一万美元(在当时是一笔天文数字,等值于一辆1956年款的劳斯莱斯)。

Continental Mark II毫无疑问地胜过第一代,在当时,它为汽车的外型设计带来了一个全新的视角,即便将它原型上的标志隐藏起来,也藏不住Continental的DNA。Continental Mark II拥有低且纤长的车侧线条,它不追俗,不使用五十年代盛行的浮夸设计,不依靠镀铬材质、双色喷漆与锋利的造型去强化其车身的美感。

本质上,它就是一辆量产的手工打造汽车,这款新一代的Continental拥有自己的生产工厂,内有14座品质管控站。每一辆Mark II制造的过程,都是对细节的绝对要求,与对毫厘间的不容妥协。

每一个装配的步骤,都是为了确保完全的合适。在最后组装前,它将会被拆卸及涂漆三次、双层上漆、手工打磨、抛光。事实上,光是金属表面的处理和涂漆就花了60个小时,超过其它所谓”豪华车”整体组装完成所花费的时间。内饰选用来自苏格兰的 Bridge of Weir真皮皮革,他们的牧场不使用铁丝栅栏,确保生产的皮革上不会有任何划痕。就连Mark II挡风玻璃上的十字头螺丝都是手工上锁,以确保其十字精确地保持垂直与水平上的对齐。

所有的完美主义都是为了打造出一台极具豪华与精湛工艺的汽车。这是林肯的目标,并将之带到中国,不仅展现在汽车制造上,更在林肯的每一间展厅,以及每一程与林肯同行的体验中。

真正的美国式经典

1976年10月1日,林肯1977年Continental Mark V正式面市。

纽约现代艺术博物馆曾评选出8辆历史上最具艺术性的豪华车,而第一代Continental便位列其中,出于对它的敬意,Continental Mark V的发布会选在该博物馆举行。

继承了上一代Mark IV经典设计的同时,Mark V也是林肯Mark系列中最大的车款。它保留了一系列林肯家族的设计元素,例如隐藏式前大灯、前脸格栅、弧线型的剧院式车窗,以及Continental Mark系列的标志:后备厢门上的备用轮胎。

除了继承经典以外,Mark V也做出了不少变革,这些变革不仅影响了林肯Mark系列,也触动了整个豪华车产业。虽然Mark V在体积上比上一代车型更大,但它的质量却减轻了180公斤。Mark V独特的流线型设计,大大提高了汽车的燃油经济性,为林肯在行业中奠定了领导地位,这也是林肯至今仍为各大汽车品牌争相模仿的一个重要原因。由此可见,Mark V始终占据Mark家族中最畅销车款的地位,并非出于巧合。